Moon Duo have previewed the first track from their upcoming third album, Shadow of the Sun.

Animal is the first cut from the LP, which will be released on March 2 on Sacred Bones.

The band say the album was recorded in a dark Portland basement in a “rare and uneasy rest period”, without the adrenaline of performing live and travelling from city to city.

Comprised of Ripley Johnson and Sanae Yamada, the two-piece have been supplemented by the addition of drummer John Jeffrey, who appeared on the band’s last release, Live in Ravenna, their first as a three piece after their first two albums, 2011’s Mazes and 2012’s Circles.

The album was mixed in Berlin with Jonas Verwijnen, and is available to pre-order now with an instant download of Animal.

Shadow of the Sun tracklisting:

1. Wilding

2. Night Beat

3. Free The Skull

4. Zero

5. In A Cloud

6. Thieves

7. Slow Down Low

8. Ice

9. Animal

Moon Duo Official | Facebook | Twitter