Liars – Angus Andrew, Aaron Hemphill, and Julian Gross – have unveiled the video for their new single ‘No. 1 Against The Rush’ which is the first track to be taken from their eagerly awaited new album ‘WIXIW’. The eerie video, which sees each member of the band abducted by a shadowy figure in downtown LA, was made by Todd Cole, the director and photographer best known for his films for Rodarte.

Aaron Hemphill discusses the video: “Beginning with Patrick Daughters’ video for ‘Plaster Casts Of Everything’, we’ve really enjoyed giving directors complete freedom in executing a visual interpretation of a Liars song entirely based on their own reaction to the song, free from any factual references or creative input from us. We were really won over by Todd Cole’s enthusiasm for ‘No. 1 Against The Rush’, as well as his very musical and rhythmic pacing in his treatment. Despite being wrapped head to toe in plastic, being dragged through broken glass, and being strangled to the ground, we had the easiest job to do on the set and we eagerly look forward to any new forms of punishment that can be inflicted upon us in making the next video.”

The new single ‘No. 1 Against The Rush’ is released on 12” and digital download on 28 May, and precedes the 11-track album, ‘WIXIW’ which is out 4 June 2012. The single will feature remixes from Vince Clarke (Erasure / VCMG / Yazoo) and Matmos plus the exclusive b-side, ‘We’ll Never Learn’.

‘No. 1 Against The Rush’ track listing

No. 1 Against The Rush

No. 1 Against The Rush – Vince Clarke Remix

No. 1 Against The Rush – Matmos Remix

We’ll Never Learn

‘WIXIW’ is Liars’ sixth studio album and the follow up to 2010’s critically lauded Sisterworld. The album, with artwork designed by John Weise, will be available on CD, deluxe vinyl (with CD) and limited edition vinyl with silk-screened embossed covers hand dipped in black wax by the band. Album pre-orders are available from here, where you can also see images of the limited edition run being produced.

Pronounced “wish you”, the album’s title is explained by Angus Andrew, “’wish you’ is a familiar and universal sentiment of longing and hope, but when misspelt becomes uniquely shrouded and difficult to interpret, which in many ways is representative of our music and the songs we wrote for this album”.

Recorded in LA, self-produced by the band with additional production from Daniel Miller and mixed by Tom Biller, the album is hard to shake, tough to pin down, and impossible to get out of one’s head even after an initial listen. Simultaneously the most accessible and most challenging release from these iconoclasts, it is both a summation of Liars’ work up to now, and a complete break from anything you’d ever heard the band do previously. “If we aren’t confusing people, it’s not us” Andrew laughs. “If we aren’t confusing ourselves with what we do, then we’ve failed.”

Watch a trailer for ‘WIXIW’ on YouTube here

Liars will return to Europe this summer for live dates including Field Day – 2 June, and a series of intimate shows, including London’s XOYO – 12 June and Manchester’s Ruby Lounge – 15 June. Full listings as follows:

Liars live dates, June 2012

2 – Field Day, London

4 – Forbidden Fruits Festival, Dublin

7 – Nouveau Casino, Paris

8 – Tivoli De Helling, Utrecht

9 – AB Club, Brussels

10 – Roter Salon der Volksbühne, Berlin

12 – XOYO, London

15 – Ruby Lounge, Manchester