Floating Points has announced a new short film and soundtrack, featuring entirely new and unheard compositions – ‘Reflections – Mojave Desert’ via Pluto on Friday 30th June 2017. The film, in collaboration with director Anna Diaz Ortuño, finds the ensemble in a thrilling sonic exploration of environment under an endless desert sky.

Whilst we were out playing and exploring the area around us – the sound reflecting from the rocks, the sound of the wind between them, complete stillness at night and packs of roaming coyotes in the distance, it became apparent that we could use this as its own unique recording environment.
– Sam Shepherd, Floating Points

The first in a planned series of environmental recordings by Floating Points to be filmed and recorded at different locations around the world; the recording was made last year, as Floating Points travelled to the Mojave to rehearse in between US touring. Immediately struck by the distinct sonic tapestry created by the rock formations and valleys, Sam and the band set up a recording operation and filmed this new work at the base of the natural sculptures they encountered. The music of ‘Reflections – Mojave Desert’ mirrors the landscape: soaring and vast, dynamic and intimate, centred around two longer works and shorter pieces that create a singular and seamless 27-minute experience.

‘Reflections – Mojave Desert’ soundtrack tracklisting:
1. Mojave Desert
2. Silurian Blue
3. Kites
4. Kelso Dunes
5. Lucerne Valley

Sun 28th May – World Island, Leeds (Solo live)
Sat 10th June – Parklife, Manchester (Solo live)
Sat 17th June – Best Kept Secret, Netherlands (Solo live)
Fri 7th July – NOS Alive, Portugal (Solo live)
Sat 15th July – Farr Festival, Cambridge (DJ)
Thur 3rd Aug – Dekmantel – Netherlands (Solo live)
Sat 5th Aug – Dekmantel, Netherlands (DJ)
Sat 12th Aug – Sunfall, London (Solo live)
Sun 13th Aug – Houghton Festival, Norfolk (DJ)

Floating Points Official | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram