Beach House are pleased to share details of their fourth album, Bloom. Like their previous releases it further develops their distinctive sound and stands apart as a new piece of work.

The landscape of Bloom was largely designed on the road, between the countless sound checks and myriad experiences of two years of touring. These ideas were later gathered and developed in Baltimore, where the band lives and works. Bloom was recorded in late 2011 at Sonic Ranch Studios in Tornillo, TX and mixed at Electric Lady in NYC. The band co-produced the record with Chris Coady.

The many layers of Bloom are meticulously constructed to ensure that each chord and melody performs its role to form a whole. Victoria Legrand states, “Bloom is a journey. For me, it is about the irreplaceable power of imagination as it relates to the intense experience of living. A bloom is only temporary… a fleeting vision of life in all of its intensity and colour, beautiful even if only for a moment.” Beach House are streaming the album’s opening track “Myth” on their website, or can be listened to below.

“Bloom” is released 14th May on Bella Union records in the UK/Europe, Sub Pop in the US, and Mistletone in Australia. Following an extensive US tour throughout May Beach House will begin their European tour with two UK shows at the end of the month and finish with a performance at Primavera on 10th June. UK live info below:

Wednesday 23 May – BRIGHTON – The Haunt (£16)

Thursday 24 May – LONDON – Village Underground (£16)

“Bloom” tracklisting:

  1. Myth
  2. Wild
  3. Lazuli
  4. Other People
  5. The Hours
  6. Troublemaker
  7. New Year
  8. Wishes
  9. On The Sea
  10. Irene