This Autumn, Flying Lotus releases ‘Until The Quiet Comes’, the long-awaited follow-up to 2010’s Cosmogramma. Composed, according to FlyLo, as “a collage of mystical states, dreams, sleep and lullabies”, ‘Until the Quiet Comes’ has the distinct feel of this nocturnal trip. From the twitching descent into a subconscious state and the out-of-focus time-ether of the journey that follows, the sound is an unhinged, yet elegant evolution of the melodic and rhythmic interplay that is woven into the DNA of Flying Lotus’ aural personae. The album, featuring guests Erykah Badu, Laura Darlington, Niki Randa, Thundercat & Thom Yorke, is set for release on October 1 (2 in N. America), 2012 on Warp Records.

To celebrate the release, Lotus will embark on an extensive period of touring, hitting cities across North America, the UK and Europe. More shows around the globe will be announced soon. FlyLo’s recordings and live performances are the center of a musical web that stretches far from the vibrant sprawl of Los Angeles – whether it’s The Weeknd, Earl Sweatshirt or Venus Williams (!) joining him on-stage at various shows this year, or FlyLo spending some studio time with Black Hippy’s inimitable SchoolBoyQ. All this stylistic mingling and genre-melting has contributed significantly to shift music in a direction that makes intellectual leaps without forsaking the all-important heft of a bassline or unimpeded ‘swing’ of a drum beat – the same way so many masters of soul music have infused their songs for lovers and dancers with brilliant and heady subtext for decades. ‘Until The Quiet Comes’ follows this tradition while clearing a path distinctly it’s own, which is a mark of a classic.


01. All In

02. Getting There feat. Niki Randa

03. Until the Colours Come

04. Heave(n)

05. Tiny Tortures

06. All the Secrets

07. Sultan’s Request

08. Putty Boy Strut

09. See Thru to U feat. Erykah Badu

10. Until the Quiet Comes

11. DMT Song feat. Thundercat

12. The Nightcaller

13. Only if You Wanna

14. Electric Candyman feat. Thom Yorke

15. Hunger feat. Niki Randa

16. Phantasm feat. Laura Darlington

17. me Yesterday//Corded

18. Dream to Me

November Europe Tour Dates:

03 London, UK, Brixton Academy (all-nighter w/ 2 special Flying Lotus performances)

04 Amsterdam, Netherlands, Paradiso

05 Leipzig, Germany, Conne Island

06 Paris, France, La Machine du Moulin Rouge

07 Fribourg, Switzerland, Fri-Son

08 Berlin, Germany, Gretchen

09 Manchester, UK, Manchester Warehouse Project

‘Until The Quiet Comes’ Oct 1st 2012 on Warp Records