Bo Ningen

London-based Japanese alternative-rock band BO NINGEN have revealed their new single ‘Minimal’ which features a guest vocal appearance from Bobby Gillespie of Scottish rock icons Primal Scream.

The track is the latest single to be taken from their forthcoming new album Sudden Fictions. The album is set for release on 26th June 2020 via Alcopop! Records and all pre-orders will come with a free art print, available now from:

Commenting on collaborating with Gillespie, bassist and vocalist Taigen Kawabe says: “Minimal is the first-ever ‘properly produced’ track—as well as the catchiest song—in Bo Ningen’s thirteen year history. After crossing the world line guided by Andrew Innes and Bobby Gillespie of Primal Scream, the anthemic element of a new sound was extracted and finalised by producer/electronic musician Matthew Herbert.”

The aforementioned ‘world line’ is the path which an object traces in 4-dimensional spacetime. It is an important concept in modern physics, and particularly theoretical physics, which the band see as central to the ambitious theme of sonically re-contextualising themselves within ‘history seen as open structure’ explored on forthcoming album Sudden Fictions.

On the new single, BO NINGEN utilise vocalist Taigen’s lyrics—performed in a duet with Gillespie in both Japanese and English on the track—to emphasize and re-define the meaning of the love song and pop music itself, without using obvious golden rules in its creation. As such, ‘Minimal’ is a challenge to BO NINGEN to confess love without losing their identity.

Earlier this year the band announced their signing to Alcopop! Records for their fourth studio album Sudden Fictions, and released lead single ‘B.C’ on limited edition 7” vinyl.

Working with Drew Brown as producer—best known for his work on albums such as ‘Amok’ by Atoms For Peace, and ‘Hyperspace’ by Beck—the album sessions took place at Vox Studios, East West Studios and Studio 101.

Recorded around the world in London, Tokyo, and LA in a constant search for inspiration, and embodying the contemporary art and music scenes where crossovers of different cultures are flourishing, the quartet fuse disparate sounds and influences into a fierce, eclectic torrent of grooves that marks Sudden Fictions out as their most ambitious and accomplished work to date.

BO NINGEN recently revealed a run of UK headline tour dates for October 2020, including a London headline on 13th October at Village Underground (see below for full listings), with tickets on sale now:

Sudden Fictions is released 26th June 2020 via Alcopop! Records

Sudden Fictions tracklist:

1. You Make A Mark Like A Calf Branding
2. AKA
3. Silenced
4. Zankoku
5. Minimal (feat. Bobby Gillespie)
6. Kyutai
7. Kuzurenai
8. B.C
9. Riff

Bo Ningen Official | Facebook | Twitter


Bo Ningen – 2020 Tour Dates