Photo: Landon Speers

Set for release on July 23rd 2012, ‘Shrines’ is the debut album by Purity Ring, a Halifax/Montreal-based duo comprised of Corin Roddick and Megan James.

Purity Ring make lullabies for the club, drawing equally from airy 90s R&B, lush dream pop, and the powerful bone-rattling immediacy of modern hip hop. Megan’s voice is at once ecstatic and ethereal, soaring joyfully through Corin’s carefully chopped beats, trembling synths and skewed vocal samples.

Despite the band’s young age (Corin is 21, Megan 24) and short gestation (they formed in late 2010), Purity Ring have delivered one of 2012’s most assured – and anticipated – debuts with ‘Shrines’. Indeed, ‘Shrines’ feels like anything but a debut record – its vocal hooks are inescapable, its lush production futuristic and sophisticated but also as pristine as anything on pop radio. The record’s eleven tracks trace a unique aesthetic universe that is carefully crafted and fully realised – deftly walking the lines between trap-rap exhilaration and otherworldly rapture, pleasure-centre pop and diaristic emotion, childlike dread and total self-possession.


Download ‘Obedear’ HERE

‘Shrines’ Tracklist

1. Crawlersout

2. Fineshrine

3. Ungirthed

4. Amenamy

5. Grandloves

6. Cartographist

7. Belispeak

8. Saltkin

9. Obedear

10. Loficries

11. Shuck

Pre-order ‘Shrines’