Pega Monstro

Pega Monstro

Following international acclaim for their last album Alfarroba, Portuguese dream-punk sisters, Pega Monstro return, with their third album entitled Casa de Cima, which translates as “Upper House”. The album is due to be released on Friday 2nd June 2017, and shares its name with the Villa in which the album was recorded, nestled amongst the pine-scattered terrain of the Sintra mountains.

Pega Monstro are sisters Julia Reis (drums) and Maria Reis (guitar), both sing. They share the same birthday but are not twins and have always lived in Lisbon, Portugal. They share new single, ‘Partir a Loiça’ also, which roughly translates as “break all the dishes”, a popular Portuguese exclamation, taken from the album. Take a listen below…

Guitarist and keyboard player Maria Reis says of ‘Partir a Loiça’: “It’s a Portuguese expression meaning to shake things up, to take a fiery U-turn on a path that has been misconceived by those in power for instance. On this song this meaning is explicit and on the record articulated in other ways – voice melodies and its references, song composition and the nakedness of the productions approach – an overall attempt to punk shit up and still sing what beauty means to us.

Casa de Cima tracklisting:
01. Ó Miguel
02. Partir a Loiça
03. Fado da Estrela do Ouro
04. Cachupa
05. Pouca Terra
06. Sensação
07. Odemira

Pega Monstro Facebook | Instagram