*Guest Editor Pick

After the recent departure of enthusiastic singer Alice Glass, Crystal Castles have announced the details for their fourth album titled ‘Amnesty (I)’.

Despite a recent spat between the two, Glass claiming her ex band mate was “manipulative”, Ethan Kath has elected to continue as CC.

Due out on 19th August via Fiction Records, many hope this album will be a return to form for Crystal Castles. For some fans, the absolute best of the duo was all the way back in 2008. Their self-titled debut was dark and abrasive, featuring tracks like “Untrust Us”, “Courtship Dating” and the slightly disturbing “Alice Practice”.

Recruiting new singer Edith Frances in the process, their latest single “Char” was featured as Annie Mac’s Hottest Record recently. It’s a pulsating and ethereal piece of electronica, seeped in replay value; extremely addictive. It’s certainly confirmed a new dawn for the project without the disgruntled Canadian, whose solo career is yet to take flight.

Track Listing for ‘Amnesty (I)’

  1. Femen
  2. Fleece
  3. Char
  4. Enth
  5. Sadist
  6. Teach Her How To Hunt
  7. Chloroform
  8. Frail
  9. Concrete
  10. Ornament
  11. Kept
  12. Their Kindness Is Charade

Previous Reviews:

Academy 2 – 22/10/2010

Crystal Castles Facebook| Twitter | Official

*(This post was chosen from the swathes of press releases by Silent Radio Guest Editor Connor Ryan: “Musically I love all things distorted and brain melting, I always hope my reviews manifest themselves in this way. However, I’m afraid at times they can come out like wet farts. So, after being given the opportunity to edit for Silent Radio, I want to carve out the most violent and frightening news items Manchester has ever seen.”)

Liverpool born music writer with passion for punk and Everton FC