Sweet Baboo has shared the new single from his upcoming album, The Boombox Ballads.

The singer-songwriter, aka Stephen Black, will release his fifth album on August 14 through Moshi Moshi.

The first single Sometimes, which is released on May 18, is available to listen to below.

Sometimes was the first track to be recorded for the album, and is the only song that features Black on all instruments except strings.

Sweet Baboo says of the track: “It’s a simple song in two parts. Instrumentally, the verses are kept simple to draw the attention to the voice. Lyrically, the verses rely on the often-used subject of being away from your loved one.

“The discordant strings are a nod to Van Dykes Parks, and musically the unfinished feel of the production is trying to emulate ‘Smiley Smile’ and ‘Wild Honey’ by the Beach Boys.”

1. Sometimes
2. Got To Hand Onto You
3. You Are Gentl
4. Two Lucky Magpies
5. The Boombox Ballad
6. You Got Me Time Keeping ft. Laura Bryon
7. Walking In The Rain
8. I Just Want To Be Good
9. Tonight You Are A Tiger
10. Over & Out

Sweet Baboo Official | Facebook | YouTube