Sleep Party People have shared new single, ‘The Fainting Spell’. It follows the first track ‘The Missing Steps’. Both tracks will be on the album Lingering, due out Friday 2nd June 2017 through Joyful Noise Recordings, full tracklisting below. Written, recorded, produced and performed entirely by Danish multi-instrumentalist Brian Batz, Lingering – featuring collaborations with The Antlers’ Peter Silberman & Air vocalist Beth Hirsch – is Sleep Party People’s fourth studio album, and the first release since 2014’s Floating.

When talking about the song Batz says, “My old battered piano in the studio needed to be tuned and fixed. After the tuning session a lot of the strings broke and left the piano in a terrible condition. But I’ve always had a weakness for broken instruments. They can give you something unexpected and eventually something useful. The sample you hear in the beginning and throughout the song was recorded using the higher octave on the piano although it was out of tune and strings were missing. But it turned out to be very useful indeed, because this loop basically wrote the rest of the song. The piano loop and the awesome drums played by Anders Bach from Ice Cream Cathedral are just the backbone of the song and I’m absolutely honoured to have him playing the drums on the whole album.”

“The lyrics are about being the quiet boy in class and how dreadful it was for me to even speak out loud during class. I almost fainted every time I had to walk up to the blackboard and speak in front of everyone, because I was so terrified to fail or not deliver what was expected of me. Now I dwell much more in the person I have become, although I’m still not a fan of being the centre of attention and speaking in front of a class. But I guess you get better at those things as you get older.”

“A feeling of fear of the unknown. A fainting spell appears. Vertigo.”

Lingering tracklisting:
1. Figures
2. The Missing Steps
3. Fainting Spell
4. Salix And His Soil
5. Lingering Eyes
6. Dissensions (Feat. Luster)
7. Limitations
8. The Sound Of His Daughter
9. The Sun Will Open Its Core
10. We Are There Together (Feat. Beth Hirsch)
11. Odd Forms
12. Vivid Dream

Sleep Party People Facebook | Twitter | Instagram